Posts Tagged ‘Award’

Farpoint Convention is almost here! Keep checking our website (www.farpointcon.com), our Facebook Page (Farpoint Convention) and our Twitter feed (@FarpointCon) for the most up to date news! Please “LIKE” us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter – thank you!

On the website – the convention schedule was posted on Feb 2nd! Go to the “2014 Schedule” link to check it out. But remember to follow the final schedule you receive at the convention to ensure you catch up on any changes from the last 2 weeks!

The Autographs page of the website has also been updated with information on costs and availability for our guests.

The weather report for the Baltimore, MD area is looking good for the weekend. Friday temperatures during the day will be in the low to mid 40s, with Saturday and Sunday in the mid 30s. Any precipitation during the weekend will be rain. Please be safe traveling, especially our friends from up north.

Don’t forget to attend our Cocktail Party and Opening Ceremonies on Friday at 7pm to start your weekend! Guests from all of our tracks will be attending. There will be a cash bar and food tickets available if you wish to partake of food and/or drink, but these purchases are at your discretion and not necessary to attend the event. Come mix and mingle with fellow convention members, committee, staff and guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming our Fandom family back to Farpoint Convention – travel safe and see you all soon.


Read Full Post »

We are happy to announce that Lee Warren and Chris Sverra are the winners of the 2011 Volker/McChesney Award for Service to Fandom. Each year, Lee and Chris bring the fun of “Vic’s Place” to Farpoint on Friday night for a swinging karaoke party. They organize the entire event themselves at no charge to us. We greatly appreciate Lee and Chris’ support over the years and look forward to presenting the award to them at convention Opening Ceremony on Friday evening.

Read Full Post »

News from the Farpoint front!

1. We have just announced that Laurie Holden from “The Walking Dead” will be coming to Farpoint in her first-ever convention appearance. Laurie joins us as we have to sadly announce that John Billingsley has accepted a play committment and cannot attend as planned. Previously announced celebrity guests Adam Baldwin and Bonita Friedricy are still attending.

2. Autographs – Adam Baldwin will be signing one item per member per day at no charge during the official autograph session. This item must be provided by the member. Adam will also have additional items for sale during the session and at various times throughout the convention.

Laurie Holden and Bonita Friedricy are signing for a fee and will sign either an item provided by the member or an item sold by them at the event. Laurie and Bonita will have table times throughout the weekend for signing and greeting convention members.

3. Volker/McChesney Award Nominations – This award is given annually to recognize service to the fan community. It is named in honor of Beverly Volker and Marion McChesney, two original leaders of the fan community in the Star Trek fan community. This award is given to an individual or a group; past recipients include The Boogie Knights, Marty Gear, Dale Arnold, and the USS Chesapeake. If you know of a deserving individual or group who has made a difference to your fan experience, please drop us a note at trekcontact@comcast.net to tell us why you think they should receive this award. One note: current Farpoint committee members and past winners are not eligible for nomination. Nominations close on 31 December 2010.

4. Program Book ads are available! Contact our editor at progbook@farpointcon.com for rates and information. Ad submission deadline is 31 December 2010.

5. Friday night’s Opening Activities are set! We start with a banquet dinner, open to all members for an additional fee. The cost per member is $45. Seating and social hour begins at 7:00 pm with dinner at 8:00 pm. As many of our guests as we can get to Maryland on time will be attending the banquet as well. Open to all convention members after dinner is the presentation of the Volker/McChesney award, a short Charity Auction and a live performance by Prometheus Radio Theatre.

6. More banquet – this year’s theme is Sherlock Holmes! Come dressed as your favorite Holmes character – we expect to see many variations on the different versions of Sherlock over the years! Prizes are awarded for best costumes. One note: costumes are encouraged but not mandatory for attending the banquet. The banquet menu will be announced in January; members who have already purchased tickets will be contacted at that time to make their entree choices. Tickets are still on sale – if you have already purchased a convention membership, contact us at trekcontact@comcast.net to arrange to add on banquet tickets. Banquet tickets WILL NOT be available at the door.

7. Upcoming deadlines:

Program book submissions – 31 December 2010
Volker/McChesney Award nominations – 31 December 2010
Hotel room reservations – 15 January 2011
Convention pre-registration – 31 January 2011

Read Full Post »

We are proud to announce that the winner of the Volker/McChesney Award for 2010 is Thomas G. Atkinson. Thomas is a long time convention member and an avid costumer. Thomas’ friends don’t remember not seeing him in costume! He is very glad to share his knowledge and encourages new costumers in their endeavors. Thomas is active in the Baltimore area fan community and can be seen (in costume) at our local conventions and in his daily life.

Congratulations, Thomas, and thank you for everything you do for the fan community.

Read Full Post »

The Farpoint Committee is pleased to announce the 2008 recipient of the Volker/McChesney Award for service to Fandom is Mr. Dale Arnold.
Dale is a longtime member of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society and a familiar face to those of us who attend Balticon.  You’ve also seen him at Farpoint and ShoreLeave working the BSFS/Balticon tables.  What you may not know is the tremendous amount of behind the scenes support Dale provides to all the local conventions, including the loan of equipment for our audio/visual needs.  Dale’s help and support is invaluable to the local convention scene, and we are proud to be able to recognize his efforts!

Read Full Post »

Once again, the Volker/McChesney Award will be awarded at Farpoint’s Opening Banquet on Friday evening.

Beverly Volker and Marion McChesney were instrumental in the development of the fan community on the East Coast.  They were fans from the earliest days of Star Trek and were writers and publishers of original fan fiction back in the days when the typing was done on an IBM selectric with carbon paper and publishing meant making copies and binding your zine yourself.  Bev and Marion were driving forces in the beginnings of the Baltimore/Washington area fan convention scene and spent many an hour on the organizing committees of all of the past and current local conventions, including Farpoint.  This award was established in their honor and memory to recognize the continued contribution of an individual or group to the fan community.

Nominations for the 2008 award are due to the Farpoint Committee no later than December 31, 2008.  Please send your nominee’s name, contact information (if known), and a short statement on why you have chosen to make the nomination to us at FarpointEnt@comcast.net.  You should also include your own name and contact information with your nomination.  Current Farpoint committee members and past recipients are not eligible for nomination.

Read Full Post »